Skip to content

Such a Night – Dr. John

04/08/2010

It was love from the first sound. This song is just too beautiful to be true. It comes from the funky record called “In the Right Place”, which I strongly recommend you to get.

F

Bb                 Bbm
Such a night, it's such a night
         F      A7        Dm         F
Sweet confusion under the moonlight
Bb            Bbm
Such a night, such a night
   F               A7      Dm     F
To steal away, the time is right

Bb                     Bbm
Your eyes caught mine, and at a glance
    F                A7          Dm      F
You let me know that this was my chance
    Bb
But you came here with my best friend Jim
                         C7
And here I am, tryin' to steal you away from him

           F       Bb7                 F         Bb7
Oh, but if I don't do it, you know somebody else will
   F       Bb7                 F         Bb7
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will
   F       Bb7                 F         Bb7
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will
   F       Bb7                 F         Bb7
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will

And it's such a night, it's such a night
Sweet confusion under the moonlight
It's such a night, such a night
To steal away, the time is right

Yeah, I couldn't believe my ear
And my heart just skipped a beat
When you told me to take you walkin' down the street
Oh yeah, you came here with my best friend Jim
Here I am, I'm stealin' you away from him

Oh, but if I don't do it, you know somebody else will
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will
If I don't do it, you know somebody else will

'Cause it's such a night

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/18/2010 15:06

    Hi Dave,

    Great thing you’re doing here! Just found your webspot. I am a loyal follower of the great Dr. If you need any assistance or so, I do have a number of his songs as well with chords and lyrics, which we could compare (which I created after long repeated lissening sessions because of that growly voice of his).

    For Such A Night, I’d like to suggest to add to the Bb7 that preceed the Bbm7’s that it’s a major 7, which is that super sweet little difference he makes there. Do check the posting on my blog, where I put a very pretty Such A Night solo version that I found on YouTube (if you hadn’t seen that one yet) http://snaptwice.blogspot.com/2009/11/such-night.html.

    Keep on goin’ on!

    Jan.

    • 04/20/2010 16:14

      Thanks for the tip. :) I’d love to exchange some Dr. John’s lyrics, as well as chords. Tryin’ to figure out what he sings can be really hard, so I’m happy to receive some help.

  2. Mojo permalink
    05/13/2011 18:48

    Thanks for the Mama Roux suggestions…..been working on the keyboard parts, and the D7 sus 4 sounds great.

  3. 11/24/2012 15:02

    Thank you so much for the original chords ! Great song. I have seen the Dr several times performing in Belgium.I even have 2 different original concert playlists

    Greetings from the Netherlands. Willem van der Griend keyboards C C and the Cruisers

Leave a Reply

