Skip to content

When Every Song Is Sung (I’ll Still Love You) – George Harrison

04/08/2010

A very beautiful song. It would have been one of the George’s finest pieces, had he finished it for All Things Must Pass. First (i.e. after Harrison himself), Ronnie Spector tried to record it, then Cilla Black (it was to be her single, but they didn’t finish it). George also did it with Leon Russel and his wife Mary. Ringo recorded it and released on his “Ringo’s Rotogravure” album. Cilla’s version, recorded in 1974, was released on a retrospective collection “Cilla: The Best of 1963-78”.

Intro
Bm      Bm maj7
Bm7     E
G       F#
Bm

     Bm            Bm maj7
When every song is sung
     Bm7               E
When every bell's been rung
     G               F#
When every picture's hung up
           Bm
I'll still love you

When every wind has blown
When every seed is sown
When everything is known
Then I'll still love you

              A               D
You know I'll love you, yes I will
                   A
You know that I'll love you
                          D
Love you, love you, yes I will
           A               D
You know I love you, yes I do
                   A
When times get too hard
              D               F#
You know I'll be there loving you

When every soul is free
When every eye can see
When people all agree
Then I'll still love you

___________________________
The trouble is that each of the above-mentioned musicians plays it differently. George’s version (on bootlegs) is played in Bm (as above). Cilla did it in slightly different key. And Ringo’s verion is Cm. On “Ringo’s Rotogravure” the first two chords are of course Cm & Cm maj7. But then instead of Cm7, there’s D#.

The bridge also differs. In the above version it was adjusted to the official lyrics (using some imagination). Below are all three versions.

George's bridge (from bootleg)
  A           D
I love you, I do
  A                       D
I love you, I love you
  A           D       F#
I love you

Cilla's bridge
           A               D
You know I love you, yes I do
                  A
When times get so hard
                              D
You know I'll be there loving you
              A              D
You know I'll love you, yes I will
                   A
You know that I'll love you, I'll love you, I'll love you
         D                F#
I always will, I love you still

Ringo's bridge (already in Cm)
           A#              D#
You know I love you, yes I will
              A#
You know I'll love you, I'll love you, I'll love you
       D#      G
Always will, Until (I think this is what he sings)

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

