Skip to content

Bogey Man – John Entwistle

04/09/2010

This is a John Enwistle’s haunted song about a Bogey Man (or Boogey Man, whatever). It’s funny, has Keith Moon’s drumming and a hillarious trumpet solo. What else do you need? Chords? There you go!

A F C D

A      B      A    B
B----5-4---------5-4-----
G-2-------4---2-------4--

     A       B             E       A
When I was a kid my mother used to tell me
   D         G          Bb        Ab
If you don't behave and do what I say
             A        B         E       A
I'm going to tell your Dad when he gets home
    D           G       Bb  Ab
And there'll be hell to pay

A F C D

Pick yourself up off the floor
And put those toys away
Wash that face and hands
You'd think your skin was turning gray

    A    F        C       D
The Bogeyman will get you
A       F           C    D
Sure as night turns into day
    A     F        C       D
The Bogey man will get you
      A        F        C  D
He'll come and drag you away

A  B  A  B (+ riff)

Sit up straight and eat your greens
Stop playing with your food
Don't pick your nose at the table
Go straight to bed, that's very rude

So I spent the night with my head in the covers
Protected by electric light
When my Mom came in to say good night
I nearly died of fright

The Bogeyman will get you
Sure as night turns into day
The Bogeyman will get you
He'll come and drag you away

trumpet solo arranged for guitar
  E   B    E       A    D   G    Bb    Ab
B---5-4----------2------1-3---------1------|
G-2-----4-----4-----2-------4-0---3----1---|  x2
D----------2-------------------------------|

  A F  C D
E-----------|
G-5s2-------| x 4
D------2s4--|

Now I'm all grown up I realize how silly kids can be
But I stay up all night with a baseball bat
That Bogeyman ain't going to get me

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

