Skip to content

Cool Dry Place – Traveling Wilburys

04/09/2010

Mostly standard blues, but played by a superband. That takes “cool” to another dimension. ;)

INTRO:
F#7  E7  B7  F#7

     B7
Well I woke up this morning

The place was such a wreck

I couldn't reach the bathroom

Thought I'd better clear the deck
  E7
I tried to call the lawyer

And ask him what to do
     B7
He referred me to his doctor

Who referred me back to you
    F#7
And when you checked the manual
    E7
You kept inside the case
         B7                   F#7
It said 'put it in a cool dry place'

  B7
I drove around the city

Looking for a room

That was high above the water

Where my things could be in tune
      E7
There was no one to help me

Nobody even cared
  B7
I had to got through hell

To get those things up there
  F#7
I paid my first subscription
       E7
Then I joined the idle race
               B7                     F#7
And they said 'store it in a cool dry place'

      E7
I got guitar, basses, amplifiers and drums
 B7
Accordions and mandolins and things that sometimes hum
E7
Cymbals and harmonicas, capos by the score
    G7                             F#7
And lots of things in boxes laying all around the floor

     B7
Some places they get mildew

And others get too hot

Some places are so damp that

Everything you got just rots
    E7
All kinds of condensation

Directories of the rain
            B7
There's not much compensation

When everything's been stained
          F#7
Some have sentimental value that
E7
Cannot be erased
   B7                      F#7
Go store it in a cool dry place

       E7
We got solids and acoustics

And some from plywood board
    B7
And some are trimmed in leather

And some are made with gourds
        E7
There's organs and trombones

And reverbs we can use
G7
Lots of DX-7s
    F#7
And old athletic shoes
  B7
I bought a great big building

It took up one whole block

I made an inventory

Of all the things in stock
    E7
The place was getting longer

I was up all night
  B7
I used up all my pencils

But I went onto spite
    F#7
The blury of my vision
    E7
The sweat upon my face
     F#7
I've got to put this stuff away
  E7
I mustn't leave a trace

    F#7
The landlord's breathing down my neck
   E7
He say's it's a disgrace
           B7                     F#7          B7
So I said 'put it in a cool, dry, place.'

Transcribed by Dawidsu & Janand (Dave & John)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martin permalink
    06/12/2013 11:20

    Easier played with capo 2nd fret with chords A7, D7, E7, F7. And cooler with at A-G-F#-F-E-bass walk over “store it in a cool dark place”.

    • 10/26/2013 13:45

      i really dont think it could get easier than this.

Leave a Reply

