Skip to content

Gallows Tree (Gallows Pole) – Odetta

04/09/2010

I had always known Led Zeppelin’s interpretation, but the very moment I heard Odetta’s version I fell in love with it. Odetta was splendid guitar player and had a mighty voice. I hope she will be remembered for ages.

Capo on the 1st fret

Am       F7      E          A
Hangman, hangman slack your rope
Am      F7      E
Slack it  for a while
A7             D7
Think I see my father comin'
F7            Am
Ridin' many a mile

Dm7  Dm7sus4  Dm7  Dm7sus4  Dm7

Papa, did you bring me silver?
Papa, did you bring me gold?
Did you come to see me hangin'
By the gallows pole?

I couldn't bring no silver
Didn't bring no gold
I come to see you hangin'
By the gallows pole

Hangman, hangman, slack your rope
Slack it for a while
Think I see my mother comin'
Ridin' many a mile
Ridin' many a mile

Mama, did you bring me silver?
Mama, did you bring me gold?
Did you come to see me hangin'
By the gallows pole?

I didn't bring no silver
Didn't bring no gold
I come to see you hangin'
By the gallows pole
By the gallows pole, oh God

Hangman, hangman, slack your rope
Slack it for a while
Think I see my sweetheart comin'
Ridin' many a mile
Ridin' many a mile, oh God, ridin' many a mile

Honey, did you bring me silver?
Honey, did you bring me gold?
Did you come to see me hangin'
By the gallows pole?
Hangin' by the gallows pole

I brought you silver
Brought you a little gold
An' I come to see you hangin'
By the gallows pole
By the gallows pole

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    11/02/2016 12:23

    Moi aussi je trouve cette version très “authentique”, je l’adore!!! Juste, à la fin, sa chérie le sauve et déclare ” and i’ DIDN’T come to see you haging by the gallows pole”, ‘est quand mm plus sympa :D

Leave a Reply

