Skip to content

Have You Seen My Baby? – Randy Newman

04/09/2010

I’m not an expert, but I think this is one of the most covered Newman’s songs. Check out Ringo’s version, sometimes mistakenly titled “Hold On”.

C

C
Have you seen my baby
          G
On the avenue?

You know she's driving me crazy
         C
With the  funny things she do

I seen her with the milkman
                G
Ridin' down the street

When you're through with my baby, milkman
                 C
Send her home to me

     F        G#*      C       (* - only in Ringo's cover.)
Hold on, hold on, hold on
     F        G#*      C
Hold on, hold on, hold on
              E       Am
You know it's been so long
      F             G#
Since she have been gone
     C        G        C
Hold on, hold on, hold on

I seen her with the gipsies
Dancin' in the wood
She's always been unfaithful to me
She ain't never been no good
I say, "Please don't talk to strangers, baby"
But she always do
She say, "I'll talk to strangers if I want to
'Cause I'm a stranger, too"

Hold on, hold on, hold on
Hold on, hold on, hold on
You know it's been so long
Since she have been gone
Hold on, hold on, hold on 

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

