Skip to content

Sandpaper Cadillac – Joe Cocker

04/09/2010

Taken from the first Cocker’s Record – “With the Little Help from My Friends”, the best one in my opinion. This is his own composition (co-written with Chris Stainton) and features Jimmy Page.

Capo on 1st fret

Am   Am/g   Am/f#     Am/f
Am   Am/g   Am/f#     Am/f
(before the first Am single f ang g notes are played)

Am Am/g    Am/f#     Am/f      Am Am/g      Am/f#  Am/f
   Riding along in a sand   -     paper Cadillac
Am Am/g       Am/f#      Am/f         Am  Am/g  Am/f#  Am/f
   Somebody's strikin' a match on the back
Am Am/g            Am/f#       Am/f    Am  Am/g  Am/f#  Am/f
   Brimstone lines marring the body so fair
Am  Am/g  Am/f# Am/f Am/e  Am/d  Am/c           Am/b    Am/a
Brimstone lines ma    -            rring the    body so fair

single notes: a b c b a g# a

Dm      Dm7+ Dm7                G
Slowly,       my mind and dream change into woe, now
(g a a#)Gm    Dm
           My car is dead and gone, Lord
(g a a#)Gm       Dm
           And I just can't carry on
Dm          Dm7+ Dm7                G
  Changing,      my thoughts become so clear to me
(g a a#)Gm    Dm
           My car wants to be free, I know
(g a a#)Gm          Dm
           And it's calling out to me, yeah

Walking along with a gold-plated pussycat
Somebody's pouring blood on its back
Paint that has pierced all the pores in his hide
Paint that has pierced all the pores in his hide

Slowly, my mind and dream change into woe, now
My cat is all alone, I know it
And it hasn't got a bone
Changing, my thoughts become so clear to me
My cat begins to sleep
And it's sleeping 'round with me

Don't you know I need that thing so bad
My car and my cat are going bad
And I need everything I can, Lady
Aaaaa! Oh, no no, this can't be the same, no
They're gonna meet me once again, yeah
They're gonna meet me once again, Lord

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    08/22/2015 19:26

    Exceptional song. My favorite from the album too.

Leave a Reply

