Skip to content

Take Me Back to My Boots And Saddle – Screamin’ Jay Hawkins

05/17/2010

“That crazy Screamin’ Jay”, as he referred to himself in one of his songs, recorded this and I must admit that this is the only recording of it I’m familiar with. I’ve found that it was written by Teddy Powell, Walter G. Samuels and Leonard Whitcup and sung by Gene Autry in some western movie. Anyway this is a fine song and Hawkins’ zany cover is just lovely. ;)

Intro: G Em Am D7 x2

        G    Em         Am    D7     G
Take me back      to my boots    and saddle
                                 Am        D7      Am      D7
Wooh-ooh-ooh, wooh-ooh-ooh, wooh-ooh (pa-parararam    pa-parararam)
       G                G7
Let me see that gen'ral store
       C                    Gdim
Let me ride that range once more
D                  G        D7
Gimme my boots and saddle

Let me ramble along the prairie
Wooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ah-ooh
Ropin' steers on old Bar-X
With my buddies, Slim and Tex
Oh, gimme my boots and saddle

G7
      C                      Gdim
Got a hankerin' to be with a banjo on my knee
G                          G7
Strummin' a pretty western tune
          C
There's a gal in Cherokee
          Gdim
And she's waitin' there for me
G                E     Am    D7
Waitin' 'neath a Texas moon

Take me back to my boots and saddle
Wooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh, ah-oooh
Let me greet each blazin' morn
On the ranch where I was born
Oh, gimme my boots and saddle

Wooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooh, ooh-ooh-ooooooh

Outro: G Em Am D7

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

