Skip to content

Louisian-I-A – Dr. Michael White

06/29/2010

One of the best jazz songs I’ve heard (that’s probably because it’s from New Orleans). It sounds like a very old recording, but actually it dates back only to 2000, when a superb album “A Song for George Lewis” was released with this number on it. The chords are based around the circle of fifths, but doesn’t end there. I recommend you to hear it for yourselves.

|F7           |Bb7          |D#7       |
|G#7        G7|D#7          |
|F7           |Bb7          |D#7       |
|C#      Fdim7|G#7 G7 Gb7 F7|Bb7    D#7|
|G#7 G7 Gb7 F7|Bb7       D#7|

    F7
Oh, L, O-U, I-S, I-A-N-A
   Bb7
Louisian-I-A
    D#7
Oh, New Orleans, its Creole queens
           G#7      G7     D#7
They gonna chase my blues away

         F7
And that old Mississippi keeps rolling
       Bb7
And it rolls me home to you
    C#        Fdim7     G#7  G7  Gb7 F7
Red beans and rice, I'm in   pa--ra--dise
   Bb7  D#7  G#7    G#7 G7  Gb7  F7
Louisi--an-I-A      I'm co--min' to you
       Bb7  D#7  G#7
Oh, Louisi--an-I-A

I said,
L, O-U, I-S, I-A-N-A
Louisian-I-A
Oh, New Orleans, its Creole queens
They're gonna chase my blues away
That old Mississippi keeps rolling
And it rolls me home to you
Red beans and rice, I'm in paradise

Oh, Louisian-I-A I'm comin' to you
Oh, Louisian-I-A.

Transcribed by Dave (Dawidsu)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

