Skip to content

Neville Thumbcatch – The Attack

11/15/2010

When my cousin played me this song, I had déjà vu. I’d heard this pum pum pum pum-pum pum pum thingy somewhere. I believe it wasn’t Peter Wyngarde’s album of which I’ve learned since. That’s got to be some ancient motif even the Egyptians knew. I’m damn sure!

Am             E
Am             E

[Repeat chords over recitative: C G D A]

Neville Thumbcatch worked daily at the mill,
And at weekends, his allotment by the hill.
He sank his soul in Mother Nature's bower,
Growing some radishes and the occasional flower.

C        G       D           D
Aaaah Aaaah Aaaah
C        G       D           D
Aaaah Aaaah Aaaah

Poor Mrs. Thumbcatch meanwhile waited back at home,
Her only comfort was an alabaster gnome.
Her husband lost sight of the wood amongst the trees,
He was a man of Nature who forgot his birds and bees.

(Chorus)
A                         D
Neville Thumbcatch you!
A                         D
Neville Thumbcatch you!
Bb                                        D
    Best things in life are free so just forget the cost.
Bb                                           D
    Enjoy your pride and you won't miss just what you've lost!

So Mrs. Thumbcatch left as soon as she was able.
She took the dog, the cat and the budgie they called Mabel.
She said at last her future now was free from doubts,
With George the milkman she'd have kids, not Brussels sprouts!

Aaaah Aaaah Aaaah
Aaaah Aaaah Aaaah

Now his allotment is a place that's never seen,
Because he has to tidy up and cook, and clean.
He doesn't like the fact he's got holes in his socks,
So I've no wife, at leas I have a window box 
[correct me if i'm wrong with the lyrics here]

(Repeat chorus) 

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
One Comment leave one →
  1. Brian Barrett permalink
    12/22/2016 00:50

    “So I’ve no wife, at leas I have a window box” – I think it’s correct. “Sometimes sadness comes and than it’s gone, as a Nevilles Thumbcatch Show goes on and on and onnnnnnnonnon” are the lyrics from Peter Wyngarde instead …

Leave a Reply

