Skip to content

Mama Roux – Dr. John

03/01/2011

This one was quite hard to transcribe. I had to ask my dad and he finally came up with the Dm7sus4 chord. The chord’s sounds are identical to D7sus4, but the singing gives you a clue that it really is a minor chord. Anyway, enjoy the chords. ;)

Intro:
F7 F6
C7           F7 F6 x 4
C7              n.c.

     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                         C7
She was the queen of the little red, white and blue
     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                         C7
She was the queen of the little red, white and blue

Gm
Ooo why, can't cha spy boy
Prepare yourself to die boy
F7
Medicine man got heap strong power
Em                      A7
You know better than to mess with me

     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                C7
Tralalala walla dalla
     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                C7
Tralalala walla dalla

         Gm
If you see a spy, boy, sittin' in the bush
Mess 'em on the head, give him a push
F7
Get out the dishes, get out the pans
Em                         A7
Oh he's a pheasant for the medicine man

     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                C7
Tralalala walla dalla
     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                C7
Tralalala walla dalla


Gm
Queen is comin', ooo, by me
Queen is comin' tu way pockey way
F7
Better not get in the way
        Em                A7
Got the second line fever today

        C7                          F7 F6
Singin' wham bam hangin' ham
C7                                  F7 F6
Come on down boy and now follow me
C7                                  F7 F6
Singin' wham bam thank you ma'am
C7                                     n.c.
Come on boy and follow me


     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                         C7
She was the queen of the little red, white and blue
     Dm7sus4      G7
Mama Roux
                         C7
She was the queen of the little red, white and blue


Gm
Chica chica chica chica
Chica chica chica chica
F7
Chica chica chica chica
Em          A7
Chica chica chica chica

C7                             F7 F6
wham bam thank you mam
C7                             F7 F6
Come boy now follow me
C7                             F7 F6
Singin' wham bam hangin' ham
C7                             F7 F6
Come on boy now follow me
C7                             F7 F6
Wham bam scram sam
C7                             F7 F6
Come boy now follow me

[Fade out...]

Dm7sus4 = xx0213

Transcribed by Dawidsu & Janand (Dave & John)
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Marc Dashevsky permalink
    03/03/2011 06:30

    Boy am I glad you nailed that suspended chord. That is perfect. I’d like to suggest that the sequence F7 F6 is actually more like Adim Dm7. (I know that Dm7 has the same notes as F6 so I don’t really care what one calls it.) I’m playing it on the piano and that Adim makes a big difference to me.

  2. Rick Greenwald permalink
    03/25/2011 00:32

    Thanks so much – I’ve been lookin’ for this one!

  3. Mojo permalink
    05/14/2011 00:58

    The A dim 7th is a great suggestion…….and I would add that you might like adding a sus4 to the Gminor. Thanks again, from New Orleans…..

    • Marc Dashevsky permalink
      05/16/2011 02:28

      I agree with Mojo that the Gm works better as a suspended chord. I have been using G7sus4.

    • 05/25/2011 13:10

      I tried to play it, and I can hear that there is a C sound somewhere in that Gm. But I suggest Gmadd11, ‘cos a Bb is still present in that chord, and in Gmsus4, the Bb is substituted with a C.

  4. Anonymous permalink
    06/15/2012 07:05

    This has been driving me crazy, but I dont think its a Gm or G7sus4. Try it as the same Adim-F6 rotation that you (correctly) offered for the into. If you throw in the G note that DJ puts in the melody it appears to work perfectly.

    Playin the hell out of this now. THANKS

    • Marc Dashevsky permalink
      06/15/2012 21:27

      After playing your recommendations, I now realize that this section is a 2-5-1 progression. It is important to have the bottom note be D then G then C and to have the right hand play the intervals Eb-Gb, D-F and C-E with the corresponding bass notes. Adim/D, F6/G and C7 covers that nicely

  5. Anonymous permalink
    11/20/2016 15:01

    Thank you for posting…surprisingly great fun to play on 12-str. acoustic!

  6. Anonymous permalink
    01/29/2017 20:07

    Thank you so much for this! I’ve loved this song since first hearing it over ten years ago and I just couldn’t figure out how to play. Something about the low-fi recording, mixed with the ambiguous harmony and melody – Dr. John’s croaking out the lyrics how he feels!
    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

