Skip to content

When I Go Away – Levon Helm

04/20/2012

Levon Helm sang some wonderful songs , had a powerful voice, and was a great drummer. I didn’t want to use the Past Tense, but as Levon is bound for glory, I have to. But he didn’t want no sorrow, so although he’s gone away, let’s play this song to the tears of joy.

CAPO ON THE 1ST FRET
Am

             Am
Early in the morning when the church bells toll
                                           G     E7
The choir's gonna sing and the hearse will roll
               Am
On down to the graveyard where it's cold and gray
             C                             G
And then the sun's gonna shine through the shadows
           Am
When I go away

              Am
Don't want no sorrow for this old orphan boy
                                     G      E7
I don't want no crying only tears of joy
                 Am
I'm gonna see my mother gonna see my father
            C                      G
And I'll be bound for glory in the morning
           Am
When I go away

G                                      E7       Am
I'll be lifted up to the clouds on the wings of angels
       G
There's only flesh and bones in the ground
                       E7
Where my troubles will stay

                    Am
See that storm over yonder it's gonna rain all day
             C                             G
But then the sun's gonna shine through the shadows
           Am
When I go away

[This bit is a capella, but if you really want to play through it, it's Am all the way.]

I'm going home - Lift me up - When I go away
No more trouble - I'm going home - Lift me up - When I go away
No more crying - I'm going home - Lift me up -  When I go away
No more trials - I'm going home - Home to leave my worries in the ground
I'm going home - Lift me up - When I go away
No more troubles - I'm going home - Lift me up - When I go away
No more crying - I'm going home - Lift me up - When I go away
No more trials - I'm going home - Home to leave my worries in the graveyard
Home to leave my troubles in the graveyard
Home to leave my trials

            C                      G
And I'll be bound for glory in the morning
           Am
When I go away

All my kin who love me all my friends who care
Look beyond the dark clouds we're gonna meet up there
When they lay me in the cold ground bow your heads and pray
(Bow your heads and pray)
And I'll be bound for glory in the morning
When I go away

And then the sun's gonna shine through the shadows
When I go away

[A capella bit again]

And I'll be bound for glory in the morning
When I go away
And then the sun's gonna shine through the shadows
When I go away

Ah, when I go away
When I go away (When I go away)
When I go away (When I go away)
When I go away

Transcribed by Dawidsu (Dave)
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

