Skip to content

Speak to Me – Jackie Lomax

10/08/2013

Here’s a song opening Jackie Lomax’s first solo album, released by Apple. Jackie was a skilled songwriter and this song proves that very well, I should say. It has three sections of different chord changes, a key change, and a change in the meter. But, most importantly, it is a brilliant track.

INTRO:
C
Bb         Eb F

C
Speak to me
                                         Bbsus4->Bb   Eb F
You cannot say we're through and not say why
C
Speak to me
                                 Bbsus4->Bb   Eb F
What can I have done to make you cry?
Am              G
Is it something I have said?
F              E
Something way above my head?
Am                G
I have thought of everything
    F                  E        Am    G
But I can't see what's worrying you

C
Speak to me
                                 Bbsus4->Bb   Eb F
Tell me, baby, what it is that's hurting you
C
Speak to me
                                  Bbsus4->Bb   Eb F
Got to know if there is something I can do
Am            G
Willingly I'd change my life
F              E
If it made you feel all right
Am            G
Anything that I can do
F                   E                Am   G
To keep myself from hurting you, I'd do

E                       Am
 Surely you can spare a moment
D                       G
 Just a word before you leave
E                      Am
 Baby, just one little moment
D                           G
 Can't you see I'm begging, please?
A
 Please

[change meter to 3/4]

D           C
D           C

   Bm           A
Is it something I've said?
G              F#
Something way above my head?
Bm           A
I thought of everything
  G                F#       Bm    A
I can't see what's worrying you

[change meter to 4/4]

D
C         F G

D
Speak to me
                                 Csus4->C    F G
Tell me, baby, what it is that's hurting you
D
Speak to me
                                     Csus4->C    F G
I have to know if there is something I can do
Bm            A
Willingly I'd change my life
G              F#
If it made you feel all right
Bm              A
Everything that I can do
   G                F#               Bm  A
To keep myself from hurting you, I'd do

D
Speak to me
C            F G
Speak to me
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

